Purpose: Gardening PLP Goal

Mr. Fox Gardening

Goal:  Create a sustainable garden to educate

community members and raise money for charity.

Why?

Mainly, I don’t know how to garden and want to learn!  I have often wanted to garden and grow vegetables but I have never found the time or space to build a garden.  I believe it is also important for people to know where their food comes from and what it takes to produce their own food. Working outside and getting my hands dirty is also a passion of mine.  I enjoy planning and constructing physical projects, in which I can actually see my progress in front of me.  I would also like to be capable of creating a garden in the future wherever I am living to grow my own vegetables.  Most importantly, if successful the garden could empower students to raise crops with their own hard work, make real money, and donate it to a cause they support.

Creating the garden will  involve many topics in science including: weather, earth science, soil analysis, engineering and design of raised beds, plant biology, adjusting variables to maximize productivity.  Gardening will also help me work on my communication skills when I am learning from others and sharing what I have learned.  While learning about gardening I will also work on my research and critical thinking skills to determine how to garden in Caracas’s climate.  I am sure there will also be many opportunities for problem solving when things do not go as planned.

View full Personal Learning Plan

About adamfox711

Middle school science teacher at Escuela Campo Alegre in Caracas, Venezuela. My wife teaches elementary art. I have a three year old daughter and one year old son.

View all posts by adamfox711

Subscribe

Connect with Mr. Fox

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

