Conclusion: Best Coffee Drinking Time

The best time to drink my coffee was…

Coffee Pot

Temperature:  65 – 50 degrees Celsius

Time:  5.5 – 20 minutes after poured

There were a range of temperatures that provided a good coffee drinking experience.  As the temperature decreased I was able to drink it without burning my mouth.  However at a certain temperature the coffee became too cool to enjoy.

My hypothesis that ideal drinking temperature would be at 70 was refuted.  At 70 degrees Celsius I received a “mild tongue burn.”  The temperatures 65 (Blow on it and take a small sip), 60 (perfect to sip), and 55 (perfect to gulp)  were all better temperatures for coffee consumption.  Even 50 (Good not great) is better than mild tongue burn.  So I have a temperature range from 65 – 50 where drinkability is the best.  This temperature range is during the time period of 5.5 to 20 minutes after the coffee is poured.

I may have been biased at the higher temperatures since I thought the coffee would taste better.  There was also less coffee after each sip which could have affected how fast it cooled and drinkability.  I also may have been harder or easier on my judgement of the quality of the coffee after multiple sips.  If I was going to engage in further research I would like to first repeat my experiment to get more data.  I would also be curious to compare other liquids such as tea and hot chocolate.

I now have a better understanding of when I should drink my coffee.  My tongue and taste buds will thank me.

PurposeProcedureBunsen Burner CoffeeData TableGraph

About adamfox711

Middle school science teacher at Escuela Campo Alegre in Caracas, Venezuela. My wife teaches elementary art. I have a three year old daughter and one year old son.

View all posts by adamfox711

Subscribe

Connect with Mr. Fox

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

