CooL TooLs

Knowing and using the right tool for the job can save you time and allow you to effectively perform a task.

There are two definitions of “tool” that I am referring to: (mainly the first for now)
  • an implement, especially one held in the hand, as a hammer,saw, or file, for performing or facilitating mechanical operations.
  • anything used as a means of accomplishing a task or purpose

Every job has it’s own set of tools

  • Chef:  knife, garlic press, rolling pin …
  • Electrical Engineer:  soldering iron, wire cutter, Voltmeter …
  • Carpenter:  saw, level, drill …
  • Game Designer:  Computer, design software, internet connection

As a science teacher and a summer time builder, I love tools!  My wife always gets nervous when I go to Home Depot with the credit card.  I recently bought a Leatherman Wave for everyday random situations where a tool is helpful.

Cool Tools

Cool Tool

tools 2

tools 4

Cool Tool Sites:

Cool Tools:  Search the categories on the left side

Cool Tools:  Boing Boing

Cool Tools:  DIY Network

Cool Art and Project Tools

Questions:

  • What tools do you use or own?  What tasks do they help you do?
  • What tools did you see that you think are cool from the sites above?  Make sure to put the link in your comment.
  • What tool would you like to buy or use?  Why are you interested in this tool?
  • Any other thoughts or ideas about tools?
About adamfox711

Middle school science teacher at Escuela Campo Alegre in Caracas, Venezuela. My wife teaches elementary art. I have a three year old daughter and one year old son.

View all posts by adamfox711

Subscribe

Connect with Mr. Fox

20 Comments on “CooL TooLs”

  1. humbertoa Says:

    Well I have a hammer, it helps me by putting a paint
    drill because I want to brake part of my wall

    Reply

  2. Alan.B Says:

    I liked really well the way you explain on the part that you say that everyone needs a different tool for example a chef needs a knife etc… also It might be a bight better if you related the tools to something 6th graders or 7th graders or as well as 8th but dont compare it to chefs or thing like that thats one comment you might like to add on some information about it,.

    Reply

  3. Nicolas Y Says:

    I use tools like UDK and Photoshop. They help me make maps (UDK) and Edit pictures( Photoshop)

    Reply

  4. Andrew W Says:

    What tools do you use or own? What tasks do they help you do?
    The tools that I use the most in are my hands. They help me do anything in life.
    What tool would you like to buy or use? Why are you interested in this tool?
    I would like to buy one of the multi-tools that are on picture on the post. I like that tool because it can be used for many purposes like pliers, scissors, as a knife and much more.

    Reply

  5. Gabrielc Says:

    I used a swiss army knife in boy scouts to help me start fires and cut wood, i also made paths on trees to know where we were.

    Reply

  6. manuel Says:

    •What tools do you use or own? What tasks do they help you do?
    I have a swiss army knife. It helps me work on projects and cut things when I go camping with my family.

    •What tools did you see that you think are cool from the sites above? Make sure to put the link in your comment.
    I saw the linx and I think it is great. You can make various figures with it.
    http://kk.org/cooltools/

    Reply

  7. sebastian C Says:

    if i could buy any tool, it would be a drumel. it is an electric pencil, used to carve and wittle wood, by electrically spinning the tip. you can attach different tips to a drumel, like a drill, or a spiked ball, or a barbed pike. my grandfather has one, and he has made many things with it.

    Reply

  8. Patrick Says:

    I use Hammers and my dad gave me a swiss pocket knife, I also use my dads switch blade that he has. The tools I use on the computer are photoshop and microsoft word.

    Reply

  9. Jae Hee K Says:

    What tools do you use or own? What tasks do they help you do?

    I own and use a lot of tools. They help me do lots of things, depending on the tool. For example, my computer helps me search stuff, my shoes help me walk and my cap conceals me from the heat.

    What tool would you like to buy or use? Why are you interested in this tool?

    I would love to own a phone. A good one. Phones can take pictures, take videos, call, see the time, and communicate. Most phones, anyway….
    If not, I’d like a Swiss Army Knife. They’re cool, and useful.

    Reply

  10. 18simonb Says:

    That looks so cool I wish would have one.

    Reply

  11. AliciaNC Says:

    What tools do you use or own? What tasks do they help you do?
    I use knife, it help me to cut stuff.
    What tool would you like to buy or use? Why are you interested in this tool?
    Any other thoughts or ideas about tools?
    I will like to buy pocket knife because it comes with a lot of tool and it could help you a lot in different activities.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

