Googling

We all use Google to find out anything about everything.  But how does Google actually work?

I was curious so I Googled:  “how does google search work”.  At least I started to until this came up.

How does google search work

I didn’t have to complete my search term, Google predicted what I wanted.  So I clicked on it and got the following screen.

Search results 2

 I took a look at the page.  How and where did I look at it?  Google has studied this question using eye-tracking studies.

Pretty awesome right?  Google is performing a scientific investigation using eye tracking data to help design their site.  If you want to work for Google pay attention in science class : )

On to the question.  How does Google search work?

Google has designed a cool infographic to explain Google search.  Check it out!

Search

After looking through the site I have an idea of how Google search gets me the information I need.  I also learned about the science of eye tracking and web design.  Sweet!

About adamfox711

Middle school science teacher at Escuela Campo Alegre in Caracas, Venezuela. My wife teaches elementary art. I have a three year old daughter and one year old son.

View all posts by adamfox711

Subscribe

Connect with Mr. Fox

3 Comments on “Googling”

  1. Paola M Says:

    this is awesome!!!

    Reply

  2. Isabella Says:

    Google is cool, but now I feel like I’m always being watched

    Reply

  3. Felipe Z Says:

    I think that Google search might be kind of like a prediction because they predict where your eyes are going. Otherwise Google might be spying on you stalking you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

