Purpose

Aspiring scientists know that every worthwhile endeavor has a clear purpose of what is to be accomplished.  The seed for my particular purpose was sown as I read Will Richardson’s book Why School.  A lot of ideas stuck out to me, but one quote resonated and spurred me into action.

Will Richardson in Why School:

“As much as I like and respect the teachers my kids have had over the years (and I really do), very few (if any) of them have been transparent learners in the classroom.  People who model their own learning process, connect to other learners as a regular part of their day, and learn continuously around the things they have a passion for.”

After thinking about and attempting to rate my transparency as a learner, I gave myself a 10…

… percent.  I realized I had a grossly underdeveloped tool sitting right in front of my face.  Why not share my own learning strategies and explorations to help students develop as learners?

Hmmmmm...

Hmmmmm…

My first step was to think about how I learn things.

Mr. Fox:  “Brain, how do we learn stuff?”
Mr. Fox’s Brain:  “We just do it!”
Mr. Fox:  “No, seriously.”
Mr. Fox’s Brain:  (gears whirring furiously)

I quickly realized that this was going to be difficult.  I decided to create this blog to provide a forum to analyze how I learn, help others develop as learners, and become a ‘transparent learner’.

(Please read in Bill Murray’s voice from What About Bob?)

I’m Blogging… I’m Blogging!!!  I’m a Blogger, I Blog!!!

Students, check this movie out if you haven’t already. It’s hilarious.

About adamfox711

Middle school science teacher at Escuela Campo Alegre in Caracas, Venezuela. My wife teaches elementary art. I have a three year old daughter and one year old son.

View all posts by adamfox711

Subscribe

Connect with Mr. Fox

No comments yet.

Leave a comment